16 EU members reject the Dublin reform – govt official

Currently as many as 16 European Union members reject the draft changes to the Dublin refugee system, a deputy state secretary at the interior ministry told parliament’s European affairs committe on Monday.


Matyas Hegyaljai said that the opponents of the Dublin IV package included the Visegrad Four states and Austria, with the Netherlands and Germany recently joining the group.

Referring to Austria, Hegyaljai said that the new Austrian government has adopted the position that asylum seekers must be evaluated before entering the community, and entry should be denied to the non-eligible. He argued that the problem of expelling migrants not eligible for refugee status was “obvious”. “They just come in and we cannot get rid of them,” he insisted.

The official reiterated the government’s position that efforts should be directed at protecting external borders and fighting abuse of the refugee system rather than distributing migrants among the countries. He added that asylum seekers should not be granted the same rights as citizens of the country that provides asylum.

According to the Hungarian government, countries which have started accession talks with the EU should be considered “safe countries”.

Source and photo: MTI

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s