New govt to work with 10 ministries

The fourth Orban government will work with ten ministries, according to a proposal submitted to parliament on Wednesday.

The ministries are: Prime Minister’s Office, Cabinet Office, Ministry of the Interior, Ministry of Human Resources, Ministry of Agriculture, Ministry of Defence, Ministry of Justice, Ministry of Innovation and Technology, Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade, and Ministry of Finance.

The prime minister’s authority and responsibilities are to be laid out in a government decree.

The proposal also declares that the Cabinet Office functions as the prime minister’s political work organisation while the new Government Office of the Prime Minister will function as a work organisation for government management.

The Information Office (IH), Hungary’s civilian intelligence agency focused on intelligence gathering operations primarily abroad, will be overseen by the foreign ministry in the future, Foreign Minister Peter Szijjarto said on Thursday, confirming an earlier report in the daily Nepszava.

The IH will move to the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade from under the aegis of the Prime Minister’s Office. Szijjarto said the IH would continue to coordinate closely with the PM’s office. Before the new arrangement goes into effect, the relevant laws will be passed laying the groundwork to maximise effective cooperation between the two offices, the minister said. The IH deals with all non-military intelligence gathering operations.

Source and photo: MTI


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s